NACCHO’s Board of Directors is comprised of:

• The Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson who are elected by delegates from Member Organisations at an Annual General Meeting, for terms of three years each; and

• 14 Directors who are elected by delegates of Member Organisations at Annual General Meetings in their individual States and Territories – two each from NT, QLD, NSW, VIC, SA, and WA, and one each from Tasmania and the ACT.

Past chairs include:

  • Dr Puggy Hunter – NACCHO Chairperson 1991-2001
  • Ms Pat Anderson – NACCHO Chairperson 2002-2003
  • Dr Naomi Mayers – Acting Chairperson 2001 & 2005
  • Mr Henry Councillor – NACCHO Chairperson 2001-2002, 2003, 2005-2007
  • Mr Tony McCartney – NACCHO Chairperson 2003-2005
  • Dr Mick Adams – NACCHO Chairperson 2007-2009
  • Mr Justin Mohamed – NACCHO Chairperson 2009-2014
  • Mr Matthew Cooke – NACCHO Chairperson 2014 – 2017

NACCHO Board of Directors

John Singer, Chairman
Mr Singer’s family is from Ngaangtjara, Pitjantjatjara and Yankunyatjara Lands, which is the cross-border area of Northern Territory, South Australia and Western Australia. He began working in community control at the Ceduna Koonibba Aboriginal Health Service where he started his health worker training, later completed in the late 1980’s with the Nganampa Health Council. John worked in Community Administration from 1989 to 1996 at Iwantja, Fregon, Pukatjaand Papunya. In 1997, he became the Manager of Iwantja Clinic, which is one of Nganampa Health Council’s clinics. In 2000, he was appointed Director of the Nganampa Health Council and still holds this position today. Over the years, John has participated on several Boards and Committees, including NACCHO. He was on the Board of the Aboriginal Health Council of SA Inc. (a representative since 1998 and Chairperson 2005, 2006–2009), Country Health SA, and the Anangu Remote Health Alliance (He was Chairperson 2005 and 2006). John has a good understanding of governance, community control and government structures, and is very committed to improving the health and well-being of all urban, regional and remote Indigenous people. With most of NACCHO’s members’ 302 clinics in regional and remote areas, his life time of working in remote community controlled health clinic services will be critical in his national advocacy of unique issues facing our ACCHO’s.
Donnella is a Torres Strait Islander woman with ancestral and family links to Masig and Nagir in the Torres Strait. She is a Cairns–based lawyer with LawRight, a Community Legal Centre which coordinates the provision of pro-bono civil legal services to disadvantaged and vulnerable members of the community. Donnella is currently the project lawyer for the Wuchopperen Health Justice Partnership through a partnership with LawRight. This innovative Health Justice Partnership is an exciting model of providing access to justice, where lawyers and health professionals collaborate to provide better health outcomes and access to justice for patients with legal issues. Donella said “she was very excited about the opportunity to contribute to working the new Chairperson, the new board and the NACCHO Executive to drive the national health debate, develop community led solution and to champion why Community-Controlled is the pinnacle model in achieving greater autonomy and self-determination for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Utilising a legal lens in which to view health, social justice human rights and access to justice my commitment is to deliver expanded and enhanced innovative health services that are community driven and community led, addressing core systemic social determinant issues that have a direct impact on our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people,” Donnella said.
Pat Turner
Pat Turner
Redfern Aboriginal Medical Service
Aboriginal Health Council of Western Australia
Tasmanian Aboriginal Corporation
Danila Dilba Health Service
Vicki Holmes

Nunkuwarrin Yunti of South Australia

Rod Jackson
Wathaurong Aboriginal Cooperative
Njernda Aboriginal Corporation
Bulgarr Ngaru Medical Aboriginal corporation
South West Aboriginal Medical Service
Julie Tongs
Winnunga Nimmityjah Health and Community Service