NACCHO's Board consists of the Chair, Deputy Chair and 14 directors. The Chair and Deputy Chair are elected by NACCHO members for three-year terms. The 14 directors are nominated by affiliates in each state and territory. Two each from NSW, Victoria, Queensland, WA, SA, and the Northern Territory, and one each from Tasmania and the ACT.

NACCHO Board of Directors

Donnella Mills


Donnella Mills is a proud Torres Strait Islander woman with ancestral and family links to Masig and Nagir. She is a Director of Wuchopperen Health Service, Chair of the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO), and member of James Cook University Council. Donnella is a Cairns-based lawyer with LawRight, and is also the project lawyer for the Wuchopperen Health Justice Partnership.

Donna Ah Chee

CEO of the Central Australian Aboriginal Congress Aboriginal Corporation

Donna is the CEO of CAAC, an Aboriginal community controlled primary healthcare organisation servicing Alice Springs and nearby remote communities. A Bundgalung woman from the far north coast of NSW, Donna has lived in Alice Springs for over 25 years and has been actively involved in Aboriginal affairs for many years. Donna is a board director of AMSANT, NACCHO and the NT Primary Health Network.

LaVerne Bellear

CEO of Aboriginal Medical Service Cooperative Limited, Redfern

LaVerne is from the Bundjalung Nation (North Coast NSW). She is currently the Aboriginal Medical Service Cooperative Limited, Redfern Chief of Staff. LaVerne was the former Director of Aboriginal Health, Northern Sydney Local Health District, where her role was to develop various Aboriginal health models of care and develop and implement strategic health plans for the local community.

Chris Bin Kali

CEO of Broome Regional Aboriginal Medical Service (BRAMS)

Christopher (Chips) Bin Kali was born in Derby WA and is a Gija/Bardi man from the Kimberley region. Chris started in the health field as Director/Chairperson of Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services (KAMS) and BRAMS before being appointed as the CEO of BRAMS. Chris is currently on the boards of BRAMS (local), KAMS (regional) and AHCWA (state).

Raylene Foster

CEO Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre (TAC)

Raylene represents Tasmania/Lutruwita on the NACCHO Board. She has a deep and historical understanding of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector, at national and local levels. For the past 25 years, Raylene has worked for TAC in various leadership roles building the capacity of the organisation, staff and community to provide  health services tor Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Michael Graham

Chairperson of the Victorian Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (VACCHO)

Michael is a Dja Wurrung and Waywurru man, who has been part of various Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisations since the age of 16. He was raised by a politically proud family who prompted him to empower and make positive changes for his community. Michael is the CEO of The Victorian Aboriginal Health Service and was recently appointed Chairperson of the VACCHO Board.

Suzanne Squires
Suzanne Squires

CEO Lake Tyers Health and Children’s Services (LTHCS)

Suzie Squires is a Yuin Woman, that was born and raised on Gunai Kurnai Country. Suzie is currently the CEO of Lake Tyers Health and Children’s Services and has positions on a number of Boards as the Chairperson of the Gippsland Aboriginal Alliance and Vicechair of Yoowinna Wurnalung Healing Service. For the past six years Suzie has been committed to advocating for change not only for Lake Tyers Aboriginal Trust and the community that reside there but for Aboriginal People across Victoria.

Craig Ritchie

Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services

Craig Ritchie is a Dhunghutti man and is the Chief Executive Officer at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS). Craig’s career spans senior roles that include work heading Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander higher education, university access and participation for people from low-SES backgrounds and international student mobility. He was founding Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health in the ACT Government. Craig’s community sector work includes serving as CEO of the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO), and Chair of the Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services.

Wendy Edmonson
Wendy Edmondson

Urapuntja Health Service

Wendy is from the Badimia Yamaji and Wattandi Amangu peoples of Western Australia. She has spent her whole career in the service of Aboriginal communities at local, state and national levels, specifically in health, management and education. She has been the CEO of Aboriginal community controlled health services in three jurisdictions; inaugural CEO of the Aboriginal Health Council of SA, CEO of Wirraka Maya Health Service in the Pilbara, WA, and current CEO of Urapuntja Health Service in the NT. Wendy has established two RTOs to provide Aboriginal Health Worker training, and is currently offering AHW training at Urapuntja. She is a strong advocate for workforce development and succession planning.

Vicki O'Donnell

CEO Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Ltd

Vicki is a Nyikina Mangala Aboriginal woman from Derby, who has worked as a Strategic Leader in Aboriginal Community Controlled Health for 15 years.

Vicki is currently CEO Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Service (KAMS) in Broome.  Vicki was instrumental in the establishment of both the DAHS dialysis unit and the Kimberley Renal Service.

Vicki has been a board member of AHCWA for over 15 years (8 years as the Chairperson), and is Chairperson of the WA Aboriginal Health Ethics Committee. She is an advisor on numerous State and Federal Ministerial Committees involved in Aboriginal health issues including representing WA on the Closing the Gap Coalition of Peaks and the WA Aboriginal Advisory Committee.

Vicki has a passion for Aboriginal Health which is noted on a state, regional and national level.  She has gained enormous respect for her knowledge, attention to detail, and communication skills at a grass roots level.

Polly Sumner Dodd Preferred Image
Polly Sumner-Dodd

Aboriginal Health Council of SA Ltd

Kane Ellis

Illawwarra Aboriginal Medical Service

Matthew Cooke

Gladstone Region Aboriginal and Islander Community Controlled Health Service T/A Nhulundu Health Service

Suzanne Andrews

Gurriny Yealamucka Health Services Aboriginal Corporation

Gary Crombie

Umoona Tjutagku Health Service Aboriginal Corporation

Previous chairpersons
Dr Puggy Hunter
1991 – 2001
Ms Pat Anderson
2001 – 2003
Dr Naomi Mayers
2001 & 2005 (acting)
Mr Henry Councillor
2001 – 2002, 2003, 2005 – 2007
Mr Tony McCartney
2003 – 2005
Dr Mick Adams
2007 – 2009
Mr Justin Mohamed
2009 – 2014
Mr Matthew Cooke
2014 – 2017
Mr John Singer
2017 – 2018